Brunei Darussalam Kingdom of Cambodia Republic of Indonesia The Lao People's Democratic Republic of Lao PDR Malaysia Union of Myanmar Republic of the PhilippinesThe Republic of SingaporeThailandThe Socialist Republic of Vietnam

mod_vvisit_counterThis week1466
mod_vvisit_counterLast week1403
mod_vvisit_counterThis month4194
mod_vvisit_counterLast month77383
mod_vvisit_counterAll days1803021


Country info



The Federation of Malaysia comprises of Peninsular Malaysia, and the states of Sabah and Sarawak on the island of Borneo. Situated between 2º and 7º to the North of the Equator line, Peninsular Malaysia is separated from Sabah and Sarawak by the South China Sea. In the northern part of Peninsular Malaysia lies Thailand, and in the south is Singapore. Sabah and Sarawak are bounded by Indonesia while Sarawak also shares borders with Brunei


Malaysia Flag and Coat of Arms:Flag of Malaysia, also known as the ‘Jalur Gemilang’("Stripes of Glory"), and coat of arms or the official emblem of the Government of Malaysia is a symbol of dignity and sovereignty.

Motto: "Bersekutu Bertambah Mutu" (Unity Is Strength)

National Anthem:  Negaraku (My Country). It serves up the spirit of patriotism towards the country and to show ambition, hopes and aspirations of Malaysia.

LANDArea                            : 329,758 sq km / (127,320 sq mi)
Highest Point                        : Mount Kinabalu 4,101 m (13,455 ft) above sea level
Lowest Point                        :  Sea level along the coast



The country experiences tropical weather year-round. Temperatures are from 21ºC (70ºF) to 32ºC (90ºF).  Higher elevations are much colder with temperatures between 15°C (59° F) to 25°C (77°F).  Annual rainfall varies from 2,000 mm to 2,500 mm.

POPULATION28.3 mil  and  Population Density of 86 person/km sq. (216 persons / sq mi)

Urban/Rural Breakdown
71% Urban
29% Rural

Largest Cities
Kuala Lumpur   - 1 674 621
Johor Baharu    - 1 386 569
Kajang                - 795 522

Ethnic Groups
The total population was 28.3 million of which 91.8 per cent were Malaysian citizens and 8.2 per cent were non-citizens. Malaysian citizens consist of the ethnic groups Bumiputera (67.4%), Chinese (24.6%), Indians (7.3%) and Others (0.7%).

Official Language Bahasa Malaysia. Other Languages English, Chinese, Tamil, Iban, other minority languages

Islam was the most widely professed religion in Malaysia with the proportion of 61.3 per cent. As a multi-racial nation, other religions embraced were Buddhism (19.8%), Christianity (9.2%) and Hinduism (6.3%).

ECONOMYGross Domestic Product  US$ 305.826 billion (2011 estimate)Gross Domestic Product  per capita current price US$ 10,467 (2010 estimate)

Chief Economic Products:
Agriculture and Forestry
Rice, palm oil, rubber, cacao, pepper, coconuts, pineapples, timber
Petroleum, natural gas, tin, bauxite, iron ore, copper
Semiconductors and electronic products, rubber products, refined petroleum,Motor vehiclesEmployment Breakdown
59.2%   Services
27.6%   Industry
13.2%   Agriculture, Forestry and FishingUnemployment rate : 3.2% (September 2012)Major Exports
Electronic equipment, petroleum and liquefied natural gas, wood and wood products, palm oil, rubber, textiles, chemicals

Major Imports
Electronics, machinery, petroleum products, plastics, vehicles, iron and steel products, chemicals, food

Major Trading Partners
Exports: US 15.6%, Singapore 14.6%, Japan 9.1%, China 8.8%, Thailand 5%, Hong Kong 4.6% 
Imports: Japan 13%, China 12.9%, Singapore 11.5%, US 10.8%, Taiwan 5.7%, Thailand 5.3%, South Korea 4.9%, Germany 4.6%, Indonesia 4.2% 

Currency Ringgit
Exchange Rate    Ringgit Malaysia RM3.15  = USD1 (2012 average)

GOVERNMENT Malaysia is a confederation of 13 states plus the Federal capital of Kuala Lumpur and the Federal district of Labuan. Nine of the peninsular states have Sultans and every five years an election is held by the royalties to determine, on a rotation basis, which one will become the ' Yang DiPertuan Agong' or 'King' of Malaysia.

The politics of Malaysia takes place in the framework of a federal representative democratic constitutional monarcy , in which the  Yang DiPertuan Agong' is the head of state and the Prime Minister is the head of government.

Executive power is exercised by the federal government and the 13state governments. Federal legislative power is vested in both the government and the two chambers of parliament, the Senate (Dewan Negara) and the House of Representatives (Dewan Rakyat) The judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature, though the executive maintains a certain level of influence in the appointment of judges to the courts.

EDUCATIONThe Malaysian education system encompasses education beginning from pre-school to university. Pre-tertiary education (pre-school to secondary education) is under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Education (MOE) while tertiary or higher education is the responsibility of the Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE).

Government-funded Educational Institutions
The Government provides more than 95% of primary and secondary education as well as about 60% of the tertiary education, with the private sector providing the balance.

Private-funded Educational Institutions
Private education providers in Malaysia can be broadly grouped into 2 categories, depending on the levels of education offered, ranging from pre-school to tertiary education. These two categories of private institutions are:

  • Private Educational Institutions (PEIs) which provide education at preschool, primary and secondary levels. They comprise private schools and foreign system schools.
  • Private Higher Educational Institutions (PHEIs) which provide tertiary education leading to the awarding of certificate, diploma and degree qualifications.

Major Universities and Colleges (Government Funded Institutions)
University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur
University of Science, George Town, Pulau Pinang
National University, Bangi, Selangor
International Islamic University, Gombak Selangor
Malaysia University of Technology, Skudai JohorMARA  University of Technology MARA, Shah Alam Selangor 
Major Universities and Colleges (Private Higher Education Institutions)Kuala Lumpur Infrastructure University College
Lim Kok Weng University of Creative Technology
Manipal International University
Tenaga Nasional University
Tunku Abdul Rahman University


Read 12264 times Last modified on Tuesday, 25 December 2012 14:57